Life-changing News

Dr Bawumia wins all 16 regions, NPP Headquarters with 68.15%  

Vice-President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia secured 629 votes representing 68.15% votes by winning all 16 regions and NPP Headquarters to emerge tops in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Super Delegates Congress.

The breakdown of his votes per region are Western-31, Central-25, Greater Accra -36, Volta-29 , Eastern-59, Ashanti -97, Western North-18, Ahafo-13, Bono-28, Bono East-22, Oti -16 , Northern-47,  Savannah-19, Upper West-23. North East-28, Upper East-31 and NPP Headquarters -107

Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central Kennedy Agyapong polled 132 votes representing 14.30% to place second.

Western-2 , Central -19, Greater Accra -15, Volta -4, Eastern -8, Ashanti -6, Western North-5  , Ahafo-10, Bono-5, Bono East-6, Oti -5, Northern-2, Savannah-7, Upper West-2, North East-0, Upper East -3 and NPP Headquarters-32

Former Trade and Industry Minister Alan Kyerematen obtained 95 votes representing 10.29% and is at third position.

The regional breakdown of his votes are Western-7, Central-4, Greater Accra-14, Volta-4, Eastern-7  , Ashanti-10, Western North-4, Ahafo-3, Bono-2, Bono East-3, Oti-6, Savannah-1, Upper West-4, Upper East-1 and  NPP Headquarters-25

He did not obtain any vote in Northern and North East regions.

In fourth position is former Minister for Food and Agriculture Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, with 36 votes representing 3.9%.

A breakdown of the regional figures are Western-3,   Central -3, Greater Accra-3, Volta-3, Eastern -1, Ashanti -5, Western North-3, Ahafo-2, Bono-2, Bono East-3, Oti-2, Upper West-3, Upper East-1  and NPP Headquarters-2 .

He failed to poll any vote in three regions namely North East, Northern and Savannah

Former Energy Minister Mr Boakye Agyarko, and Mr Francis Addai-Nimo, a former MP for Asante Mampong polled nine votes each representing 0.98% to tie at fifth position.

The regional breakdown is as follows; Eastern-4, Central -1, Greater Accra-1, Western North-1, Ahafo-1 and Savannah-1.

No one voted for Mr Agyarko in 10 regions namely Western, Volta, Eastern, Ashanti, Bono, Bono East, Oti, Upper West, North East, Upper East and NPP Headquarters

Mr Addai-Nimo secured nine votes in Greater Accra-1, Volta-1,   Eastern-1 and NPP Headquarters-6 to place sixth.

In 13 regions, no delegate voted for him. These are Western, Central, Ashanti, Western North, Ahafo, Bono, Bono East, Oti, Northern, Savannah, Upper West, North East and Upper East.

Former General Secretary of the NPP, Mr Kwabena Agyei Agyepong  came seventh with six votes representing 0.65%.

The regions where he obtained the votes are Greater Accra-1, Ahafo-1, Northern-1, and NPP Headquarters -3.

He did not obtain votes Western, Central, Volta, Eastern, Ashanti, Western North, Bono, Bono East, Oti, Savannah, Upper West, North East and Upper East.

Mr Joe Ghartey, a former Minister for Railways and MP for Essikado-Ketan, polled four votes representing 0.45%.

The regions he polled the votes are Western-1, Central -1, Western North-1 and NPP Headquarters -1.

The regional breakdown Greater Accra , Volta, Eastern, Ashanti, Western North, Ahafo, Bono, Bono East, Oti, Northern, Savannah,  Upper West, North East, Upper East  and NPP Headquarters.

Energy Expert Mr Kwadwo Poku polled three votes representing 0.33% in Central-1, Western North-1 and Oti-1 regions.

No delegate in Western, Greater Accra, Volta, Eastern, Ashanti, Ahafo, Bono,  Bono East,  Oti, Northern, Savannah, Upper West, North East, Upper East  and NPP Headquarters.

Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, an Economist did not obtain a single vote.

Chairman of the elections committee, Mike Oquaye stated that the party will hold another election on Saturday, September 2 to decide the fate of Agyarko and Addai-Nimoh if neither of the two aspirants drops out.

Sixteen polling stations with one at the party headquarters were created across the regions for the election, which started from 9am and close at 1pm.

The Super Delegates Congress has 955 voters, whereas the November 4th, National Delegates Conference would have over 230,000 delegates.

Some 927 delegates cast their votes of which four ballots were rejected resulting in 923 valid votes.
The delegates are made up of members of the National Council, National and Regional Executive Committees, Members of Parliament and three representatives from each of the special organs of the party (Youth, Women and Nasara).

The rest are past national officers, three representatives from every branch, founder members during the registration of the Party at the Electoral Commission (EC) and all card-bearing ministers.

Leave a comment
error: Content is protected !!