Life-changing News

17 NDC MPs booted out in 10 regions

Some 17 NDC MPs lost their bid in the party’s primaries to once again represent their constituencies and the party in the 2024 general elections.

The losers are from 10 out of the 16 administrative regions.

17 NDC MPs

The Upper East Region recorded the highest causalities of four followed by the Volta Region with three losers.

Oti and Greater Accra regions recorded two casualties each.

The remaining six regions where the 17 NDC MPs suffered defeat recorded one loser each are Bono East, Western North, Ashanti, Northern, Western and Central.

Upper East Region – 4 MPs lost

Four incumbent MPs in the Upper East Region lost the endorsement to be re-elected to parliament in 2025.

Edward Bawa – Bongo

Edward Bawa, MP for Bongo surprisingly lost his bid to represent the party in the 2024 elections.

Charles Bawadua, a legal practitioner and former Executive Secretary of the Labour Commission polled 535 votes to beat the incumbent

Albert Akuka Alalzuuga- Garu

For the Garu constituency, Dr Thomas Winsom Anaba, a former Medical Director of Accra Regional Hospital (Ridge Hospital) polled 250 votes to secure a ticket for the parliamentary election in 2024 ahead of Albert Akuka Alalzuuga who had 160 votes.

Thomas Dalu- Chiana-Paga

In the Chiana-Paga constituency, the incumbent Thomas Dalu polled 300 votes to lose to Mr Nikyema Billa Alamzy, a businessman who secured 488 votes.

Sampson Chiragia-Navrongo Central

The incumbent for the Navrongo Central constituency Sampson Chiragia lost his bit to return to Parliament after polling 447 votes which was less than the 475 votes that Mr Simon Akibange Aworigo, a businessman polled.

Volta Region-3 MPs lost

In the Volta Region, three incumbent MPs also failed to retain their seats.

Wisdom Kobena Woyome- South Tongu

A surveyor, Maxwell Lukutor emerged as the Parliamentary Candidate in the South Tongu Constituency of the Volta Region after defeating the incumbent MP, Wisdom Kobena Woyome.

Lukutor polled 597 votes as against Kobby Mensah’s 562 votes, whereas the third contender Vivain Abla Kpeglo had just 4 votes.

Dela Sowah- Kpando

In Kpando, the incumbent MP Dela Sowah was defeated by Sebastian Fred Deh with 332 votes to 281 votes.

Angela Alorwu-Tay- Afadzato South

Also, the MP for Afadzato South, Angela Alorwu-Tay, lost her bid to retain her candidacy.

She polled 225 votes, losing to her contender, Frank Afriyie who won with 631 votes.

Oti Region- 2 MPs lost

Two MPs from Oti Region also lost their bid to represent their constituencies in 2024 elections.

Wisdom Gidisu- Krachie East

The incumbent MP for Krachie East, Wisdom Gidisu lost with 257 votes.

The main contender, Nelson Kofi Djabab, won with 441 votes.

Aboagye Kwadwo Nyampong- Biakoye

Also, Aboagye Kwadwo Nyampong representing the Biakoye Constituency lost in the primaries.

Greater Accra -2 MPs lost

The Greater Accra Region also recorded two casualties in the primaries

Sophia Karen Edem Ackuaku-Domeabra-Obom

Sophia Karen Edem Ackuaku incumbent MP for Domeabra-Obom who switched to Ayawaso Central also lost.

Christian Otuteye-Sege

MP for Sege Christian Otuteye also failed to retain his candidature.

Bono East Region (Dr Kwabena Donkor-Pru East)

Former Power Minister Dr Kwabena Donkor, Pru East MP also lost his bid.

Emmanuel Kwaku Boam beat the incumbent MP with 474 votes.

Western North Region (Augustine Tawiah-Bia West)
Augustine Tawiah, the MP for Bia West, lost his nomination to Mustapha Amadu Tanko, who won with 935 votes against Tawiah’s 452 votes.

Ashanti Region (Dr. Alex Adomako Mensah-Sekyere Afram Plains)

In the Ashanti Region, Dr. Alex Adomako Mensah, MP for Sekyere Afram Plains lost to a newcomer, Hajia Nasira Afrah.

Northern Region (A.B.A Fuseini-Sagnerigu)

Three-time MP for the Sagnerigu constituency in the Northern Region,, A.B.A Fuseini, was booted out after delegates gave the newcomer, Attah Issah, the nod to lead the party for the 2024 parliamentary elections.

A.B.A Fuseini widely known for his proverbs polled 333 votes while his main contender Attah Issah polled 801 votes.

Western Region (Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah-Wassa Amenfi Central)

The two-time Member of Parliament for Wassa Amenfi Central, Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah, was defeated.

He lost to Dr. Joana Gyan Cudjoe, a businesswoman and wife of Keche Andrew, a member of music group, Keche.

Central Region (Abeiku Crentsil-Ekumfi)

MP for Ekumfi Constituency in the Central Region Abeiku Crentsil, who polled 149 votes lost to Dr. Ekow Kwainoo who obtained 329 votes.

Election postponed in 15 constituencies

Elections did not take place in some 15 constituencies as the party works to resolve issues of dispute on various fronts.

The affected constituencies include Akwatia, Ayensuano, Afram Plains South, Lower West Akim, all in the Eastern Region; Manhyia South, Adansi Asokwa and Mampong in the Ashanti Region; Ayawaso West Wuogon and Odododiodoo in the Greater Accra Region; and Amenfi East and Akontombra in the Western and Western North regions, respectively.

The rest are Tano North in the Ahafo Region; Gomoa Central, Assin North and Effutu in the Central Region.

47 parliamentary aspirants unopposed

Parliamentary primaries were not held in the constituencies of 47 unopposed candidates because they are considered elected candidates.


Leave a comment
error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: